Bear was due for bloodwork today, and his Bilirubin was better!  Remember my last post when I said "he looks half as yellow?"  Well I was right because his Bilirubin is HALF as bad as it was.  It went from 14.7 down to 7ish.  Bilirubin shouldn't be higher than 0.6!

Bad news, two of his other liver levels were a little worse... but Bilirubin is what the vet was most concerned about.  Our regular vet was not there today, I have to call him tomorrow and ask him about his opinion on Bear's bloodowrk.

Well we are almost $300 in the hole at the vets now. We still need help with that.

I will have to get them to send me a receipt, they were closing and an emergency came in... I will call tomorrow about it.  I was charged regular price for everything since Bear's regular vet was not there.  No discount on fluids, no free office visit.  On top of that we got a months worth of fluids/meds, usually they only give me 2 wks worth. It added up reallly fast.  Bear was put on additional liver med, it's called Lipo-form.

The vet tech was smitten with Bear, lol!  She held him like a baby over her shoulder and told him how sweet/cute/nice he was. The vet even commented "wow, he is a nice looking cat" while petting him. =)  I love Bear so much, he really is a good boy. But I would love him just as much if he wasn't good, lol. 

Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
Thanks everyone for your continued support, it means the world to us!  Bear sends his love to each and every one of you!
5/29/2010 04:34:37 pm

I am glad that Beat is getting better. I hope and pray that he will be all the way better very soon. Herman is sending healing purrs.

Reply
5/29/2010 07:42:32 pm

Maybe the regular vet will apply the better price for this last visit when you next speak? Worth a try!

Very glad Bear's bilirubin is down, we're still sending him rumbly purrs to help him get well again

Whicky Wuudler

Reply
Bear's Meowmy
5/30/2010 05:02:27 pm

Thanks, maybe our regular vet will do that. I hope so!

Bear sends his love!

Reply
6/1/2010 08:41:58 am

We will keep up our purrs for Bear! We might be able to donate a bit more, but it will have to wait for a couple of weeks.

Reply
Bear's Meowmy
6/1/2010 01:34:18 pm

Thanks for the donations, we have enough to pay off our last visit. So we should be ok for a month. =)

Karen Jo, thanks for the kind comments! I tried to write a comment on your blog, but I couldn't because I don't have a google id. Your blog is cute though, Herman is a HUNK! I hope he gets well soon!

Reply
'Kaika
6/3/2010 09:04:05 am

Happy to hear that Bear is gaining ground. Well done, little man1

Our human says that it may be cheaper to order Bear's fluids and IV supplies on line. When the ones-who-came-before needed those items, it was very expensive from the vet, so our human ordered everything from KV Vet Supply. They have a website. You'll need a prescription from your vet to be faxed or phoned in.

Hope Bear continues to improve.

Reply
12/29/2011 10:48:42 am

Great site you got here. Good job with the entry as well. I found this related post that you may want to see…

Reply
4/28/2012 10:40:55 am

i trully enjoy most of your articles and your different point of view. Thanks.

Reply
7/5/2012 04:36:09 pm

Did not pay the person is not qualified to talk about success.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Picture

    100% of donations go towards Bear's medicine & vet bills.

        Author

    I am mommy to 6 cats and a doggy, we live in North Carolina. I am a college student trying to take the best care of my animals. Right now I have been very busy trying to nurse Bear back to health, but due to the lack of money, I need your help!



    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010